Posted by: Megan | June 14, 2007

From rural pastures to Hollywood …

she’s gone from brushing off the cow dung from her gumboots to brushing with fame.  She’s done for now with her days under the shade of the eucalypt trees and substitued them for palm ones lining the ocean boulevade of Venice.  She’s lost sight of those cute and fury Australian icons plastered to yellow road signs, warning of their existence for the next 88km as the Hollywood sign is now within her foremost vision.  She’s Jac Burnside from BFN Australia, and here is what she has to say about her new home away from home …

jac1.jpg

Name … Jac Burnside.

Nationality … Australian.

Native homeland BFN (a little like B.B.C but more remote).

If you were to place a pin on the world map you would now find me … Venice, California.

I’ve decided to head here because … I’d like to say Hollywood called me but actually, it was work and the desire for a change of scenery!

I’ve been away to date for … 41/2 years.

My current surroundings can be described as … Intrepid!

The Big Brown Couch in my life isThe Cows End – local coffee shop where the locals hang!  Gives me a sense of community away from home.

My life away from home sees me working … hard, very hard!

When I am not working I’m … sipping margaritas, a beer or … now it’s summer, a champagne.

Missed about home is … good coffee, tasty beer, wine bars with B.B.Cs, friends that have known me forever and who ‘get me’ and who I get and family of course!

Loved about my new environment is … it still surprises me every day!

I am known to the locals as … The Moral Compass!

Favourite local hideouts include … Baja Cantina – local sports bar [and sports fans ;-)] with Mexican restaurant and Hinanos – local ‘cash only’ dive bar with sawdust on the floor, cheap beer and wine and amazing local characters and Casa Del Mar – just so you know that I am not totally unsophisticated for sunsets and champagne!

Choice cuisine when I am eating locally sushi (or is it a late night Hinanos burger?)

Differences between here and home range from … ah, the people, the people!  And the language, the language!  Sarcasm anyone?

I’d tell my friends & family to pack up their bags and come on over to experience … winter in Southern California – it doesn’t get better than that!

Next stop is …Hmmm … Byron Bay (long term plan for when I grow up), Patagonia (short term plan for next trip) and ???  Where I will next live/work, this is the big question.  Maybe The Big Brown Couch can assist in this decision-making process?

If I could tell The Big Brown Couch just one final thing it would be … have as many people sit on your cushions as you possibly can!


Site Meter

Responses

  1. So Jac – how did you get to know Megan? Meet on the Big Brown Couch one day??


Leave a Reply

Categories

